Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Metallic colors (Read 1621 times)
Lynne_196676
GCU Newbies

Metallic colors
Sep 15th, 2012, 10:57am

I am new to GCU and really enjoying it.  I would like to know the best way to do metallic colors - such as the gold on Eugenia Bacon's beautiful Buon Natale card (#116521). Can we use metallic Pantone spot colors?  Thank you.
Lynne

Email   IP Logged
Tanya_135475
Gold Member
artist

Re: Metallic colors
Reply #1 - Sep 15th, 2012, 11:41am

Hi there this is probably not very helpful but well it's sort of handy  

Mostly it's gradients, you would have a gradient on your text instead of a color, and you can also match that gradient as a stroke and put the slider down to make it smaller giving a golden edge...

Gradients vary on what type of gold you would like, you can always sample something golden and then make your gradient (I use photoshop) for example you would open the gradient and do :

#fae48f then in the middle #f5bd46 then the end 9f8400 and use reflected instead of linear or circular blend, but if you look up (photoshop or other) tutorial to make golden gradients you will find lots of tuts available and explained better Smiley I love getting something gold a ring necklace and using the color dropper to make my gradients as there are so many golds, and to put them on text is just a matter of gradient overlay..

Here is a tutorial that has the edge as well which can be a lovely effect and you can use any color even the color trends to do any kind of metallic blend, and experimentation is always fun Cheesy poke them buttons.
http://creativenerds.co.uk/tutorials/create-a-slick-gold-text-effect-using-photo shop/
and you can then save your style by double clicking your text layer and then you have it perma, lots of gold variations are always handy some stand out more than others.