You must login or register to post.

Unsplash Photos (Read 1038 times)
Natalie_152060
Gold Member
artist

Unsplash Photos
Apr 9th, 2019, 10:09am

Hi everyone

Can anyone advise me please. As a photographer myself I use all my own photos for my card designs, with the exception of a few Stock Creations. However I've had a custom request for one of my cards but instead of the Jack Russell image I have on the card, the customer would like a Golden Labrador.  I don't have any photos of a Golden Labrador - Golden Retriever yes, but not Golden Labrador.  

So obviously I googled the question lol.  I found the free photo website Unsplash, the TOUs seem pretty clear that the images photographers upload to Unsplash can be used commercially but need to be either edited or used in conjunction with other elements. The other elements for my card would be the humorous text that goes with it. My plan would be to create the card, have it in my private gallery only, send the link to the customer for them to either purchase the card or not, and once it is either purchased or enough time has elapsed that it becomes clear that they don't want to purchase the card, I will delete it from my private gallery.

Has anyone got any experience with Unsplash, does this sound an acceptable use according to their licence agreement. I think it is within their terms of use but am wondering if anyone could confirm for me.

That all said I don't know for sure yet that I will be able to find a suitable photo lol

Thanks for any advice anyone is able to offer.

Natalie Smiley

Edited to add that I have indeed found a suitable photo and decided to also message the photographer who uploaded the image to Unsplash to double check about the TOUs. Fingers crossed Smiley

Email   IP Logged
Beverly_133630

Re: Unsplash Photos
Reply #1 - Apr 9th, 2019, 10:51am

Email   IP Logged
Natalie_152060
Gold Member
artist

Reply #2 - Apr 9th, 2019, 11:01am

Hi Beverly