Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Pages: 1 2 
Does anyone do well with photos (Read 5071 times)
randall_205847
GCU Newbies

Does anyone do well with photos
Mar 11th, 2013, 12:18pm

Does anyone ever do really well with mainly photos and not graphic designs?
Thanks Randall

Email   IP Logged
Tracie_152843
Gold Member
artist

Re: Does anyone do well with photos
Reply #1 - Mar 11th, 2013, 12:28pm

I have both in my store. The ones that seem to sell the best (for me) are the ones where I have a photo embellished with graphic design.

Email   IP Logged
Carole_223037
GCU Newbies

Reply #2 - Mar 11th, 2013, 12:28pm

I'm a newbie too, Randall. I think it depends on your photographs. I have been doing some collages with mine like Stephanie Laird. You can check out her cards on here. She has quite a few. I think it depends on what kind of cards you make and how well your images go with that type of card. I also think you have to start thinking of taking photographs in terms of what makes a good greeting card.

Carole

Email   IP Logged
Sandra_137209
artist

Reply #3 - Mar 11th, 2013, 12:39pm

I do have some cards with photos and some with graphic design.

Looking back at the cards I have sold this year so far, most orders were for graphic design cards.
But I did have one order for 25 cards with a photo of a white rose.  

One card that sold was a photo taken by my husband's cousin's son, used with his permission. He is a guy who loves bicycling so he gets some interesting outdoor pictures.  

One card was a public domain image of a kitten with really frantic looking fur. The card is a "Don't be afraid. Turning sixty doesn't hurt a bit".

I began switching more to graphic design about a year ago. It has become harder and harder to get photos approved here. All in all, I sell more graphic designs than photo cards. They take longer to make, but I have found the images are more versatile.

Email   IP Logged
Doreen_137017
Gold Member
artist