Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Photo Standards (Read 4446 times)
Patricia_131413
artist

Photo Standards
Feb 9th, 2013, 12:38pm

I have been working on improving my photos - and submitting to stock sites for sale and getting one or two accepted and a LOT declined and I am a photographer - that is my real job!

I ran across this at one of the sites - a VERY in depth guide to what they accept and don't accept - and probably close to what GCU is looking for as well - here is the link http://www.istockphoto.com/help/sell-stock/training-manuals/photography/istockph otos-standards

It may help with understanding how some of the standards are viewed in general - not just here at GCU -  

Smiley

Email   IP Logged
Angela_151919
Gold Member
artist

Re: Photo Standards
Reply #1 - Feb 10th, 2013, 2:15am

That's a real eye opener Patricia!
Very useful for any photographer I think. Thanks for sharing.

Email   IP Logged
Doreen_137017
Gold Member
artist

Reply #2 - Feb 10th, 2013, 7:59am

Well done Patricia for finding and sharing this.  I would have to agree with you, based on what is written in the Submission Guidelines, this is a very good visual to refer to.

Thanks for the share!  

Email   IP Logged
Rebecca_140932
Gold Member
artist

Reply #3 - Feb 10th, 2013, 3:59pm

Patricia, if you are thinking about joining iStock, better study those guidelines closely. There is a test afterward. And passing it is easy, compared to getting your images approved. Good luck!

Email   IP Logged
Norma_133903
artist

Reply #4 - Feb 12th, 2013, 10:52pm

You would be mad to join istock (owned by Getty) at the moment. they have completely betrayed their photographers. They have cut a deal with Google to give photos away for free, and only paid the photographers $12!
It would be like GCU letting Google give our cards away to anybody who cared to download them, and giving us peanuts for the privilege.

See here: