Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Can I use images pre 1920? (Read 1689 times)
Sherry_205423
Gold Member

Can I use images pre 1920?
Nov 8th, 2012, 12:17pm

Hi - I'm a newbie and I have images of old cards pre-1920 also WWII card images, does anyone know if they are allowed? They're basically WWI and WWII cards for different occasions. Help from exerienced sellers would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

Email   IP Logged
Doreen_137017
Gold Member
artist

Re: Can I use images pre 1920?
Reply #1 - Nov 8th, 2012, 12:30pm

Quote from Sherry_205423 on Nov 8th, 2012, 12:17pm:
Hi - I'm a newbie and I have images of old cards pre-1920 also WWII card images, does anyone know if they are allowed? They're basically WWI and WWII cards for different occasions. Help from exerienced sellers would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

HI Sherry,

I have several vintage pieces on the site, so no problem there; however I have taken the images from Public Domain Vintage sites and therefore have always been able to offer a link to 'certify' the PD status.  

Tom Rent at Comical Captions buys old vintage photos from swap meets and he is allowed to use those too, so I'm guessing you'll be fine.  Just make sure you put a note in the Reviewers Notes section when you create the cards to the effect of the 'year' and any other info on where you go the photo.

Email   IP Logged
Sherry_205423
Gold Member

Reply #2 - Nov 8th, 2012, 12:33pm

Thank you, Doreen. Guess it's worth a try. All they can do is say "no!" Smiley

Email   IP Logged
SunAtNight_145914
Gold Member
artist

Reply #3 - Nov 8th, 2012, 12:34pm

Here are some links to help you out as you are just getting started:

GCU Intellectual Property List (also known as the Taboo List)
http://www.gcuwiki.com/ip.html

Image Guidelines
http://www.gcuwiki.com/ig.html
Copied and Pasted from above URL: