Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Printed Card Color Pale (Read 2427 times)
Lynn_181314
GCU Newbies
artist

Printed Card Color Pale
Sep 16th, 2011, 1:00pm

Hello,

I'm new to GCU and love the simple card making format and opportunity to post my artwork. Very excited!!  Grin  Just one question about the printing. While the card stock is wonderful, the colors turn out quite pale. It's at least 3 or 4 shades lighter than what the images look like online or in person. Is there a way to fix this?  Has it always been this way?  I'm just thinking that a customer will not return once they see the pale copies. The colors are not sharp like you see at the grocery stores or card shops.  (I ordered cards at different times and it's the same issue.)

Thanks for any advice or information!!
Lynn

Email   IP Logged
Diana_131887
Gold Member
artist

Re: Printed Card Color Pale
Reply #1 - Sep 16th, 2011, 1:49pm

Lynn, Sorry to hear of your color problems. You may have to darken your files. My work is also traditional art, scanned etc. I'm on a mac and use photoshop -my GCU cards print pretty true to my files and look pretty close to what I see on my screen. I know with traditional art sometimes blues and greens don't scan true to the originals and you may have to fuss with them in photoshop.

Email   IP Logged
Lynn_150145
artist

Reply #2 - Sep 16th, 2011, 1:53pm

Hi Lynn, welcome to GCU.  

I actually haven't experienced this before.  I order cards regularly for gift giving and quality checks. The colors I have in my cards print true to the colors as pictured online and as I see them on various monitors that I use when creating the artwork.  

How many cards have you ordered? Were they all pale in the batch?  It could be a specific problem with the printing of that batch. You should post in the GCU Support Forum that you received a batch with faded colors so the printing company can look into to the matter.  

Best of luck, Lynn (love the name by the way  )