Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Pages: 1 
QUESTION: Photograhy of Art in Public Places (Read 5478 times)
Tracie_152843
Gold Member
artist

QUESTION: Photograhy of Art in Public Places
Jun 2nd, 2011, 10:35pm

Does anyone know if it is legal to use a photograph you yourself took of a statue or other permanent piece of art found in a public place such as a park? And if so, do you put credit to the sculptor in the artist's notes? Any info would be much appreciated  Smiley

Email   IP Logged
Rosanne_132497
Gold Member
artist

Re: QUESTION: Photograhy of Art in Public Places
Reply #1 - Jun 2nd, 2011, 10:57pm

The short answer is "it depends". A good place to start for this sort of information is "Legal Pitfalls in Taking or Using Photographs of Copyright Material, Trademarks and People" from the World Intellectual Property Organization

http://www.wipo.int/sme/en/documents/ip_photography.htm

As a photographer myself, I do photograph modern public installations in parks if I find them attractive (as a tourist) but I never use the images for a commercial activity. It could infringe copyright. After all, it's not my art  Smiley .

If it's very old, you may well be OK, but you would have to check.

My two cents.

Cheers,

Rosanne

http://www.redrosedigitalart.com
http://redrosedigitalart.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/RedRoseDigitalArt

Red Rose Digital Art Greeting Cards:
http://www.greetingcarduniverse.com/RedRoseDigitalArt
Email   IP Logged
Ramelle_149580
Gold Member
artist

Reply #2 - Jun 2nd, 2011, 11:13pm

It's tricky. I had to delete a card that I made featuring a photo of the "Little Mermaid" statue in Copenhagen. The photo was free, in the public domain, and I altered it to make it an entirely new work of art, but the statue itself was copyrighted. How was I to know?
Watch out for landmarks like the Eiffel Tower and Seattle's Space Needle, too.