Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Pages: 1 2 
SOME EXPOSURE, PLEASE? (Read 3592 times)
David_133145
artist

Re: SOME EXPOSURE, PLEASE?
Reply #15 - Mar 26th, 2008, 11:24am

Hey guys, I was just being a smarty pants when I made the comment "what's photoshop."  It's an inside personal joke.  
As a "starving artist" I have been using some free grahic programs for a couple of years.  The Germans are very gnerous with some nice free programs. But then, other countries support the arts.  
I started with Ultimte paint and some of the corel draw programs The recent one that someone, I am sorry I don't exactly recall who, called "Paint.net" has proved to be very useful.  I draw all mt artwork originally, then color and fill them with graphic programs.  This is a necessary process as doing my old colored pencil fills simply does not gain the results that are...well competitive as far as quality goes.  Vector graphics is, of course, the goal as all or most of the pixelization is removed.  
I recently purchased Adobe CS3 illustrator, which I saved many months to afford, which is the premier vector grahics program.  I am very excited about having the program for my own, finally, but the learning curve is pretty intense.  Much like Photoshop, I am sure.  I've found the paint.com to be a great substitute in the interim, although I use many of the other programs because each of them has tools that are not found in the others.  Someday I'll master the CS3 so I can stay in one place to get my work done.  I gues this is why I am amazed at how much time some people spend in forums.  I rearely have time away from my grahics, and then the process of uploading images to my various stores is also so time consuming.  
Anyhow, all that said, I've often wanted to get photoshop as it has some very valuable tools. But vector graphics is what I need most.  So, it was with a touch of jealousy and sarcasm that I said "what's photoshop?"  Certainly no offense intended. Cheesy