Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Pages: 1 2 3 
Honor System (Read 7280 times)
Patricia_132015
artist

Re: Honor System
Reply #15 - Feb 10th, 2008, 11:50pm

Just reading this reads scary. I don't do poems much and if I do one it'd be related to the card I made. It would be something general and not specific. What if someone made a poem they thought was something they made and it's been around since before A.D.? I'd  try to make a poem short though. If I had to read a page or 2 or 3 or more of a card, I'd get bored real fast and not want to read it. I've got a short term memeory for something that long winded. I'm no pro, but I do know about copy rights enough to know it's bad to steal someone else's stuff. I'm an artist, I'm pretty sure I am. You do know that there are thousands of poems out there and might be even in the millions or billions in meny books. You need a pro on this one, which I'm not. Scary stuff to see your work copied. I want to be kept informed on this one. Reads like we need to know more on this.

Email   IP Logged
Picture_131439
artist

Reply #16 - Feb 11th, 2008, 9:11am

As a regular on other POD forums, I can assure you that this is unfortunately a very common occurance.  I've had a phrase I have NEVER heard ANYWHERE else suddely show up in another shop, with the words in the exact placement as my own (not on GCU, elsewhere).  I wouldn't be surprised to learn that this isn't an isolated incident, and have recently looked through cards here and noticed some people seem to focus on creating a lot that are very similar to those in the best/bulk sellers.  

It's wonderful and rosey to believe everyone is here to find a fun creative outlet and the money is just icing on the cake, but the reality is that this is a way to make money and where there is money, there will be those that are looking for an easy way to get some-deserved or not.