Welcome, Guest Login
You must login or register to post.

Business viability questions from artist (Read 2834 times)
Ex Member

Business viability questions from artist
Feb 20th, 2007, 3:08pm

Cool
I'm an artist and part of the TheArtofLicensing@yahoogroups.com discussion group (where I read about your site). I'm considering putting my artwork on this site. I read that your initial goal at launch is 100 artists and 1000 cards.  

Here are a few business-related questions.

1. With the proliferation of e-cards, do you have marketing research to indicate enough customers will pay $2.49 -$3.49 to buy printed cards to make this viable?  

2. What is your ramp up timeline to make this a viable business?

3. I see that customers can have the card sent to themselves (for personal delivery, I assume). Is the real business opportunity in the customer personalizing the card and having it mailed directly to the recipient?

4. Is the Reminder Service the engine driving this business?

5. Can you help protect the art from simply being downloaded off the screen as a Save As file (it will be a small image but usable)?

PJ Ryan Huh

IP Logged
Mindy
GCU Administrator
Community Manager

Re: Business viability questions from artist
Reply #1 - Feb 21st, 2007, 10:58am

Hi PJ,
Great post and nice to see you thinking this through.  Let me respond to your questions and let me know if you need more details...

1. Absolutely, the ecard market although highly popular has hardly touched the paper card market.  See this current and interesting article citing both Hallmark and American Greetings...

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20070213.wecardss0213/BNStory /Technology/home